Learned Society of Wales Announces Names of Six New Medallists

The Learned Society of Wales has announced the names of the latest six academics to win the Society’s medals, in recognition of academic excellence.

The medals recognise outstanding contributions in research and scholarship. They are a celebration of the achievements of both the individuals honoured and of the academic sector of Wales, from universities to schools.

  • Frances Hoggan Medal
    Professor Haley Gomez MBE FLSW, Professor of Astrophysics in the School of Physics and Astronomy, Cardiff University, has won the Learned Society of Wales’ Frances Hoggan Medal 2020, awarded to celebrate outstanding research by women in STEMM subjects.
    Read more
  • Menelaus Medal
    Professor Nidal Hilal FLSW, Chair in Water Processing Engineering, Swansea University, has won the Learned Society of Wales’ Menelaus Medal 2020, awarded to celebrate excellence in engineering and technology.
    Read more
  • Hugh Owen Medal
    Professor Sally Power FLSW, Director of Education at the Welsh Institute of Social and Economic Research and Data (WISERD), has won the Learned Society of Wales’ Hugh Owen Medal 2020 for her outstanding educational research.
    Read more
  • Dillwyn Medals
    The Society’s Dillwyn Medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding early career research:

    Dr Rebecca Dimond (Social Sciences, Education & Business)
    Read more

    Dr Jennifer Edwards (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine)
    Read more

    Dr Gwennan Higham (Humanities & Creative Arts)
    Read more