President and Officers

The Society has five Honorary Officers.


Professor Hywel Thomas CBE FRENG MAE FLSW FRS

Professor Thomas is Professor of Civil Engineering at Cardiff University, the founder Director of the Geoenvironmental Research Centre (GRC) at the University, and a UNESCO Professor in the Development of a Sustainable Geoenvironment. Read more

Vice-President – Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Helen Fulton FRSA FSA FLSW

Helen Fulton studied at the University of Sydney and the University of Oxford where she specialized in medieval English literature and Celtic Studies. She held a University of Wales postdoctoral fellowship at the Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies in Aberystwyth and a Leverhulme postdoctoral fellowship. Read more

Vice-President – Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine

Professor Michael Charlton FINSTP FLSW MAE

Mike studied physics at University College London (UCL) completing his PhD there on the interactions of low energy positrons in 1980. He won a Science and Engineering Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship in 1982 followed by a Royal Society University Research Fellowship in 1983, before becoming a Reader in Physics at UCL in 1991. In 1999 he moved to a Chair in Swansea University.  Read more

General Secretary

Professor Alan Shore FInstP FLSW

K Alan Shore was brought up in New Tredegar in the Rhymney Valley. He obtained a BA in mathematics at Jesus College, University of Oxford and a PhD at (the then) University College, Cardiff . His PhD, sponsored by British Telecom Research Laboratories, concerned the semiconductor laser which introduced him to the field of Photonics in which he has continued to undertake research for some 45 years. Read more


Professor Terry Threadgold FLSW

Professor Terry Treadgold – Professor Emerita of Communication and Cultural Studies, and formerly: Pro Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University