Learned Society of Wales Announces Two New Honorary Fellows

The co-discover of the pulsar and a BBC Reith lecturer are among those admitted to the  Fellowship of the Learned Society of Wales (LSW), the national academy for arts and sciences.

Physicist Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, who discovered pulsars whilst a graduate student, and historian Professor Margaret MacMillan, noted for her research on the British Empire and international relations, have been elected as Honorary Fellows of the Society.

They join 43 other new Fellows, all of whom share a link with Wales, its universities or intellectual life and are drawn from all specialisms.

A full list of the new Fellows can be downloaded here.

The Society’s President, Sir Emyr Jones Parry said:

‘The election of two such acclaimed Honorary Fellows brings further distinction to the LSW.

‘I am delighted to see the election of 43 new Fellows, showing again the talent connected with Wales, which will reinforce the work of the Society, recognising excellence, promoting research and putting our expertise at the disposal of the nation.’