New Medal to celebrate educational research

A NEW MEDAL named in honour of Sir Hugh Owen (1804-1881) the Welsh educator, philanthropist and pioneer of higher education in Wales is to be established by the Learned Society of Wales (LSW) this Autumn.

As part of its mission to help recognize and celebrate Welsh scholarship, the LSW plans to establish an annual prestigious medal award that recognises major contributions to educational research or the application of research to produce significant innovations in education policy and/or professional educational practice in Wales.

The medal which will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in education, by an individual with a connection with Wales will be funded by the Welsh Government. Welcoming the establishment of the new award, Huw Lewis AM, Minister for Education and Skills commented:

There is some outstanding research activity taking place in education institutions across Wales and many people with a strong connection to Wales are making a real difference for generations of future learners by applying research to shape education policies. This award will recognise and celebrate all that is good about Welsh educational research and I look forward to discovering the identity of the award’s first recipient.

The President of the Learned Society of Wales Sir Emyr Jones Parry said:

Education has always been a vital element of Welsh life. Encouraging research in education and its positive application recognises the imperative to inspire the best educational provision in Wales

The LSW currently awards two medals: the Menelaus Medal sponsored by the South Wales Institute of Engineers Educational Trust (SWIEET2007) awarded for excellence in engineering and technology or industrial research or practitioner, and the Frances Hoggan medal sponsored by Welsh Government which recognises women in science, medicine, engineering or mathematics.

This summer, the Society will launch the Dillwyn Medals which will be awarded annually in recognition of excellence in early career research.