Congratulations to Fellows

We warmly congratulate the following Fellows of the Society on their recent achievements:

Alwyn R Owens has been awarded the Science and Technology Medal as this year’s Eisteddfod Genedlaethol.

Formerly Head of the Electronics Department at Bangor University, Mr Owens has advised a number of technological companies over the years, including Hewlett Packard.

He was also part of a Bangor-based team looking at how to eliminate vibrations on a platform in a spaceship – a project supported by the European Space Agency.

A spokesman for the National Eisteddfod said:

 “Alwyn was active in the field of Welsh medium science and technology for many years. He chaired the committee which organised the first science exhibition at the Urdd Eisteddfod in 1966 and he remains interested in public-facing science to this day. He chaired the National Eisteddfod’s Central Science and Technology Committee for a time, and was also chair of the Cymdeithas Wyddonol Genedlaethol (National Science Society). It is fitting that this year’s Medal is awarded to a scientist who has a proven track record in his specialist field and who has also long supported the aims of the National Eisteddfod.”


Professor Hutton, of the Department of History, Bristol University has been elected as a Fellow of the British Academy.

Professor Hutchings, of Cardiff School of Chemistry and Director of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute is awarded the Davy Medal for the discovery of catalysis by gold and for his seminal contributions to this new field of chemistry.

The Davy Medal is awarded annually “for an outstandingly important recent discovery in any branch of chemistry”. The medal is named after Humphry Davy FRS and was first awarded in 1877.


A Royal Medal for interdisciplinary sciences is awarded to Professor Wells, Cardiff School of Engineering for pioneering the application of the physical and engineering sciences to the development of ultrasonics as a diagnostic and surgical tool which has revolutionised clinical practice.

Three Royal Medals, known also as The Queen’s Medals, are awarded annually by the Sovereign upon the recommendation of the Council. 


Professor Karihaloo of Cardiff School of Engineering has been elected a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Engineering.

The Russian Academy of Engineering is a prestigious public academy of sciences, uniting Russian and foreign scientists, engineering, scientific organisations, higher education institutions and enterprises. To be elected as a foreign member is an honour that recognises Professor Karihaloo’s scientific and technical significance in engineering, and his contribution to international science, engineering and technology


Professor Phillips, Professor of Gerontology at Swansea University has been awarded an OBE for services to older people in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.
Professor Phillips is director of the Older People and Ageing Research and Development Network (OPAN) in Wales.   She is also currently the Director of the Research Institute for Applied Social Sciences at Swansea University.