Previous Recipients – 2017

In 2017, the Dillwyn Medals were awarded for the first time.

From left – Dr Amanda Rogers, Dr Rhiannon Evans, Sir Emyr Jones Parry, Dr Rachel Evans

Unique amongst awards offered by the national academies of the UK, the Dillwyn medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding early career research in three different academic fields:

  • STEMM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine);
  • Social Sciences, Education and Business;
  • and the Creative Arts and Humanities

The Dillwyn medal for STEMM was awarded to Dr Rachel Evans, a lecturer at the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy at the University of Cambridge. The new photoactive materials designed in her laboratory are used to improve the efficiency of solar cells, to develop smart sensing platforms for bio-diagnostics and to ensure food security, and to develop responsive membranes to improve water quality and remove pollutants, delivering positive benefits to society through technological advances.

Dr Rhiannon Evans, Senior Lecturer at the DECIPHer Research Centre, School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University was awarded the Dillwyn Medal for Social Sciences, Education and Business. Her research interests include the mental health and wellbeing of children and young people, including self-harm and suicide prevention.

The recipient of the Dillwyn Medal for the Creative Arts and Humanities was Dr Amanda Rogers, Senior Lecturer in Human Geography at Swansea University, researching the performing arts, particularly theatre. Her work to date has examined issues of diversity and equality, and analysed the international migration of performers. Her current research focuses on the revival of Cambodian arts after the Khmer Rouge genocide.