Sir John Houghton

Elected: 2010 Founding Fellows

Area(s): Science, Technology, Engineering, Medicine & Mathematics

Specialist Subject(s): Meteorology

Honorary Scientist at the Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research, Meteorological Office, and at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory; formerly: Professor in Atmospheric Physics, University of Oxford; Chief Executive, the Meteorological Office; President, the Royal Meteorological Society; Chairman, Joint Scientific Committee, World Climate Research Programme; Chairman, Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Change (Nobel Peace Prize winner)