Congratulations to the newly revealed LSW medallists

The Learned Society of Wales has announced the names of its 2023 medallists at a ceremony attended by Jeremy Miles MS, Minister for Education and Welsh Language, and Professor Dame Sue Ion, one of our Honorary Fellows and Chairman, UK Nuclear Innovation Research Advisory Board.

The medals are awarded each year to celebrate the outstanding research that comes from Wales.  

The subject specialisms of the winners range from science education to aero-engine design, climate change to virtual reality. 

This year’s recipients are: 

Menelaus Medal

Professor Aimee Morgans, Imperial College London 

Professor Aimee Morgans

Newport-bred and educated, Professor Morgans is renowned for her work on the instabilities that threaten the structure of gas turbine aero-engines. This has seen her work with many of the world’s leading engineering firms. She was the first woman to become a Professor at Imperial College’s Mechanical Engineering department and leads on numerous equality, diversity and inclusion initiatives. More details

Hoggan Medal

Professor Siwan Davies, Swansea University 

Professor Siwan Davies

Professor Davies is a physical geographer and science broadcaster, as well as a multiple award-winner for her research. That research is wide-ranging and includes internationally recognised work on the analysis of microscopic volcanic ash particle, which can help to reconstruct past periods of climate change to provide clues about current change. More details

Hugh Owen Medal

Professor Tom Crick, Swansea University

Our Hugh Owen Medal is named in honour of Sir Hugh Owen (1804-1881) and celebrates outstanding educational research in Wales. 

Professor Tom Crick

Professor Crick is recognised internationally for leading Welsh reforms on STEM education. Other work on computer science education and digital skills policy contributed to him receiving an MBE in 2017 for “services to computer science and the promotion of computer science education”. More details

Dillwyn Medals

The Society’s Dillwyn medals are awarded in recognition of outstanding early career research in three different academic fields: STEMM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine); Social Sciences, Education and Business; and the Creative Arts and Humanities.

Humanities and Creative Arts

Dr Rebecca Thomas, Cardiff University 

Dr Rebecca Thomas

Dr Thomas specialises in the history, culture and literature of medieval Wales. She has a particular interest in using detailed close reading of the source texts, often at word and sentence level, to look at influences from Britain and Europe on Welsh medieval identities. She has also published two medieval historical novels for young adults. More details


Dr Iestyn Woolway, Bangor University 

Dr Iestyn Woolway

Dr Woolway is a climate scientist who researches the impact of climate change on lakes and their ecosystems. This work in invaluable for helping decision-makers who work to preserve vulnerable ecosystems. More details

Social Sciences, Education and Business

Dr Leighton Evans, Swansea University 

Dr Leighton Evans

Professor Evans’ background in the philosophy of technology and new media and resulted in ground-breaking work on virtual reality and the metaverse. His work is notable for its interdisciplinary quality, which blends ideas from media studies, philosophy and social sciences. More details