In Person

Medal Ceremony 2023

26 Oct, 2023:

6:00 pm -

26 Oct, 2023:

8:00 pm

The Learned Society of Wales invites you to join us at a ceremony at the Senedd to recognise this year’s recipients of our Hugh Owen, Frances Hoggan, Menelaus and Dillwyn medals. 6.00pm – 8.00pm, 26th October.

We award these medals annually to researchers who have excelled in their careers.

The Learned Society of Wales champions research by recognising those with notable achievements in their career, including those who have made significant contributions at the start of their career.

Sponsored by Mark Drakeford MS, this year’s presenters include Dame Sue Ion (HonFLSW), Chairman of the UK Nuclear Innovation Research Advisory Board and internationally renowned contributor to energy policy. There will be a chance to meet and talk to all attendees during drinks and canapes afterwards.  

This will be an opportunity for you to discover the breadth of research taking place in Wales, meet the people at the forefront of that research and how they are making an impact across Wales and the world. It will be a space to meet, collaborate and effect change.  

Our Hugh Owen Medal celebrates outstanding research in education, while the Frances Hoggan medal recognises exceptional women researchers in STEMM. The Menelaus Medal is awarded for excellence in engineering and technology. Early Career Researchers, from or in Wales, receive one of three Dillwyn Medals: for Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine; Humanities and Creative Arts; and Social Sciences, Education and Business.

This event is run with support from Cardiff University.