

Annual General Meeting, 24 May 2023 Cyfarfod Cyffredinol Blynyddol, 24 Mai 2023 AGM/2023/02 Agendum 07 CCB/2023/02 Agendwm 07

Honours, Prizes & Awards

List of Awards and Honours Granted to Fellows, May 2022 – April 2023

Note: The following list has been compiled from the Fellows' Bulletins of the past year and may not be complete. To ensure that we have the most accurate and up-to-date information, we invite you to share any awards or recognition received. Additionally, please be aware that the information is organised by the month in which the news was publicised, rather than the month in which the award or honour was granted. Please also note that book publications and small grant awards are not included in this list.

June 2022

Professor Emerita of Poetry Menna Elfyn FRSL FLSW: awarded the prestigious Cholmondeley Award.

Professor Angela V. John FRHISTS FLSW: succeeded the late Professor Hywel Francis as President of Llafur, the Welsh People's History Society.

Professor Robin Williams HONFINSTP FLSW FRS KBE: awarded the 2022 National Eisteddfod Science and Technology Medal for his lifelong contribution to science in Tregaron.

Dr Gwyneth Lewis MBE FLSW: awarded MBE for services to Literature.

Professor James Durrant CBE FRSC FRS FLSW: awarded CBE for services to Photochemistry and Solar Energy Research.

Professor Glyn Hewinson CBE FLSW: awarded CBE for services to Animal Health and Welfare.

Professor Uzo Iwobi CBE FLSW: awarded CBE for services to Racial Equality.

Professor Julian Sampson CBE FRCP FMEDSCI FLSW: awarded CBE for services to Medical Genetics.

Professor Dave Worsley OBE FIMMM FLSW: awarded OBE For services to Advanced Materials and Solar Energy Research for Low Carbon Technology.

Dame Sue Ion DBE OBE FRS FRENG FINUCE HONFLSW: made Dame Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire for international impact in her field and for her work fostering the next generation of engineers from under-represented groups.

July 2022

Professor Javier Bonet FLSW: became General Director of the International Centre for Numerical Methods in Engineering (CIMNE) in Barcelona.

Professor Charlotte Williams OBE FLSW: became Emeritus Professor at Bangor University.



August 2022

Professor Ronan Lyons FFPH FFPHMI FLSW: elected as a member of the Academia Europaea.

September 2022

Professor Gillian Bristow FACSS FLSW: elected as fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Professor Tom Crick MBE FIET FBCS FACSS FLSW: elected as fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Professor Chris Hancock FIET FINSTP FRENG FLSW: elected as fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Professor Qiang Shen DSC FBCS FRENG FLSW: elected as fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

October 2022

Professor Marilyn Strathern DBE FBA HONFLSW: received the President of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Professor Kamila Hawthorne MBE FRCGP FRCP FACADMED FLSW: became Chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners.

Professor Geoff Richards FLSW FBSE FIOR FORS FTERM: became Honorary Professor of Aberystwyth School of Veterinary Science.

November 2022

Professor E. Wyn James FLSW: elected as a Fellow of the International Ballad Commision (KfV).

Professor Tom Crick MBE FIET FBCS FACSS FLSW: received an IET Achievement Medal for his work in STEM Education and Policy.

December 2022

Professor Laura McAllister CBE FLSW: named among the BBC's list of 100 inspiring and influential women from around the world for 2022.

January 2023

Professor Colin Riordan CBE FLSW: awarded CBE for services to Higher Education.

Professor Keshav Singhal CBE FRCS FLSW: awarded MBE for services to Medicine and the Community in Wales.

Professor Bridget Emmett OBE FSB FLSW: awarded OBE for services to Soil and Ecosystem Science.

Professor Roger Falconer DSC DENG FRENG FLSW: awarded an Honorary Doctor of Engineering by the University of Bradford.



April 2023

Professor Peter Halligan DSC FBPS FPS CPSYCHOL FMEDSCI FRSB FLSW: awarded a CBE (honorary) by His Majesty King Charles III in recognition of his services to neuropsychology research and to Science in Government.

Dr. Emma Yhnell SFHEA FLSW: received the Biochemical Society Teaching Excellence Award (Early Career) that recognise excellence and achievement in both specific and general fields of science.

Professor Mererid Hopwood FLSW: won the Hay Festival Medal for Poetry.

Professor Laura McAllister CBE FLSW: appointed UEFA vice-presidents.

Mrs Elin Rhys DLITT FLSW: awarded the 2023 John Hefin Lifetime Achievement Award.