

Annual General Meeting, 19 May 2021 Cyfarfod Cyffredinol Blynyddol, 19 Mai 2021 AGM/2021/03 Agendum 04 CCB/2021/03 Agendwm 04

Honours, Prizes & Awards

List of Awards and Honours Granted to Fellows, May 2020 – April 2021

Note: The following list is compiled from Fellows' Bulletins of the past year. The information is arranged by the month in which the news was publicised, not the month in which the award or honour was granted. It does not include book publications or small grant awards.

June 2020

Professor Menna Clatworthy FRCP FMedSci FLSW: elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences. **Professor Claire Gorrara FRHistS FLSW:** as Chair of the University Council of Modern Languages, leading a campaign to raise awareness of the vital role the British Council plays in languages education.

Professor David Worsley FIMMM FLSW: winner of the 2020 St David Award for Innovation, Science and Technology in recognition of his work in advanced materials and solar energy.

July 2020

Professor Patrick McGuiness FLSW: awarded The Royal Society of Literature's 2020 Encore Prize, which celebrates the achievement of outstanding second novels, for his novel *Throw Me to the Wolves*.

Dr Rowan Williams (Lord Williams of Oystermouth) PC DD FRSL FLSW FBA: appointed as the new Chair of Trustees of the Council for the Defence of British Universities.

The Rt. Rev. Dr Barry Morgan DD Dlitt FLSWDD Dlitt FLSW: appointed as the Lay Commissioner with responsibility for Welsh matters on the Judicial Appointments Committee.

August 2020

The National Eisteddfod was postponed for a year but Fellows **Ms Helgard Krause FLSW** and **Professor John Thomas, Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd FLSW**, were among the names the Gorsedd would have honoured on the Maes in Tregaron in 2020.

September 2020

Professor Catherine Barnard FBA FLSW: elected as a Fellow of the British Academy. **Professor Rick Rawlings FBA FLSW:** elected as a Fellow of the British Academy.

October 2020

Professor Sir Richard Catlow FRSC FInstP FLSW FRS: knighted for services to leadership on science and research.

Sir Clive Lewis FLSW, now The Right Hon. Lord Justice Lewis: elevated to the Court of Appeal. **Professor Paul Meredith OBE FLSW:** awarded OBE for services to semiconductor research and innovation.

Professor Hywel Morgan MBE FInstP FRSC FIET FLSW: awarded MBE for services to biomedical engineering.

November 2020

The following Fellows were recognised in the Institute of Physics 2020 awards: **Professor Mike Charlton FInstP MAE FLSW**: 2020 Joseph Thomson Medal and Prize **Professor John Llewellyn Collier FLSW**: 2020 Richard Glazebrook Medal and Prize **Professor Laurence Eaves CBE FRS FLSW**: 2020 Nevill Mott Medal & Prize **Dr Drew Nelson OBE FREng DEng FLSW**: 2020 Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize

Professor Byron Morgan FLSW received the Royal Statistical Society (RSS) Barnett Award for 2020. His associated Barnett Lecture was given to the RSS 2020 virtual conference in September, on the topic 'Biodiversity Matters'.

Professor David N. Thomas FRSB FLSW: moved from Bangor University to take up the Chair of Arctic Ecosystem Research at University of Helsinki.

December 2020

Professor Martyn Tranter FRGS FLSW: received the European Geosciences Union Julia and Johannes Weertman Medal. He has also had an Antarctic glacier, the Tranter Glacier, named after him.

Professor David N. Thomas FRSB FLSW: also had an Antarctic glacier named in his honour: the Thomas Glacier.

Professor Geoff Richards FIOR FBSE FRMS FLSW: became a Fellow of the Orthopaedic Research Society.

January 2021

Professor Anthony Campbell CBE FLS FRSA FLSW: awarded CBE for services to biochemistry in the New Year's Honours.

The New York Times chose *War: How Conflict Shaped Us* by Honorary Fellow **Professor Margaret MacMillan CC CH HonFLSW** as one of its 10 best books of 2020.

Yr Athro Hazel Walford Davies FLSW: biography of Sir Owen Morgan Edwards won the University of Wales Sir Ellis Griffith Memorial Prize 2020.

Professor Gert Aarts FLSW: appointed Director of the European Centre for Theoretical Nuclear Physics.

February 2021

Two Fellows appointed as advisers to the Learned Society of Wales' President and Council: **Professor Rick Delbridge FAcSS FBAM FLSW:** Special Adviser for Research and Innovation **Sir Emyr Jones Parry GCMG FInstP FLSW**: Special Adviser for International Affairs

March 2021

Professor Valerie O'Donnell FRSB FLSW awarded the Biochemical Society's 2021 Morton Lecture.