

Fellows Elected April 2018

Honorary Fellows

Professor Sir Vaughan FR Jones KNZM FRS FRSNZ FAA Hon FLSW

Stevenson Distinguished Professor, Vanderbilt University; Director of the New Zealand Mathematics Research Institute; Professor Emeritus, University of California at Berkeley

Professor Dame Marilyn Strathern DBE FBA Hon FLSW Professor Emerita, University Cambridge

Fellows

Professor Dave Adams FRSC FLSW

Chair in Chemistry, University of Glasgow

Professor Cara Carmichael Aitchison FHEA FWLA FAcSS FRGS FLSW

President and Vice Chancellor and Professor of Geography and Cultural Economy, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Professor Howard Barnes OBE DSc FREng FIMMM FLSW

Principal, Rheology Consultants; Honorary Professor, Chester University

Professor David Brooksbank FRSA FLSW

Professor of Enterprise and Dean, Cardiff School of Management, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Professor Claire Connolly FLSW

Professor of Modern English, University College Cork

Professor Shareen Doak FLSW

Personal Chair in Genotoxicology and Cancer, Swansea University

Professor Idris Eckley FLSW

Professor of Statistics, Lancaster University

Yr Athro Menna Elfyn FRSL FLSW

Athro Ysgrifennu Creadigol | Creative Director, MA Creative Writing, University of Wales Trinity Saint David

Professor Kirsti Bohata FHEA FLSW

Professor of English Literature Director of CREW, Swansea University

Professor Tony Brown FLSW

Emeritus Professor, School of English, Bangor University

Professor Hanna Diamond FRHistSoc FLSW

Professor of French, School of Modern Languages, Cardiff University

Professor Julian Dowdeswell ScD FGS FRGS FLSW

Director, Scott Polar Research Institutep; Professor of Physical Geography, University of Cambridge

Professor Emerita Anne Edwards Doctorates

Honoris Causa (Helsinki and Oslo), AcSS FLSW Retired, formerly Director of the Department of Education, Oxford University

Professor Alma Harris FRSA FLSW

Professor of Leadership and Policy, University of Bath

Dr Bleddyn Owen Huws FLSW

Uwchddarlithydd, Adran y Gymraeg ac Astudiaethau Celtaidd | Senior Lecturer, Department of Welsh & Celtic Studies, Aberystwyth University

Professor Martin Kitchener FCIPD FAcSS FLSW

Professor of Management; Dean and Head of School, Cardiff Business School, Cardiff University

Dr Alun Cynfael Lake FLSW

Reader, Department of Welsh, Swansea University

The Honourable Sir Clive Buckland Lewis FLSW

Judge of the High Court of England and Wales, Royal Courts of Justice

Professor Biagio Lucini FLSW

Personal Chair Head of the Mathematics Department, Swansea University

Professor John Robert Morgan FLSW

Professor Emeritus Emeritus Professor History & Classics, Swansea University

Professor Perumal Nithiarasu DSc CEng FIMA FMechE FIPEM FLSW

Dean, Academic Leadership, Research Impact; Head, Zlenkiewicz Centre for Computational Engineering, Swansea University

Professor Andrew Owen FRSB FBPhS FLSW

Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine; Chair of the Board of Trustees, British Society for Nanomedicine; Professor of Pharmacology in the Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, University of Liverpool

Professor Ronald Pethig DSc CEng FIET FInstP FLSW

Emeritus Professor of Bioelectronics, University of Edinburgh

Professor Raluca Radulescu FLSW

Professor of Medieval Literature, Bangor University

Professor Trevor Mervyn Jones CBE FMedSci FRSC PhD Hon DSc Cchem Hon FRCP FBPhS FFPM FLSW

Chairman Simbec-Orion Ltd Merthyr Tydfil, Director Wales Life Science Fund (Arthurian Life Sciences); Simbec-Orion Ltd, Wales Life Science Fund

Professor Jenny Kitzinger FLSW

Director of Research: Impact and Engagement and Co-Director of the Cardiff-York Coma and Disorders of Conciousness Research Centre, Cardiff University

Professor John H Lazarus FRCP(Lon.Edin.Glas) FRCOG FACE FLSW

Vice Chair Trustee Board Tenovus; Emeritus Professor of Clinical Endocrinology Cardiff University, Cardiff University

The Lord Robert James Lisvane KCB DL FLSW

Deputy Lieutenant for Herefordshire; First Warden, The Worshipful Company of Skinners; Independent Vice-President, Local Government Association; Cross-Bench Member of the House of Lords (Member, Delegated Powers and Ecclesiastical Committees), House of Lords

Professor Danny McCarroll FLSW

Professor of Geography, Swansea University

Professor Damien Murphy FRSC FLSW

Head of School Professor of Physical Chemistry, Cardiff University

Professor Paul O'Leary FRHistS FLSW

Director of Welsh Language and Culture, Institute of Geography, History, Politics and Psychology; Holder of the Sir John Williams Chair in Welsh History, Aberystwyth University

Yr Athro Richard Gwynedd Parry FRHistS FLSW

Professor of Law and History of Law, Swansea University

Professor Eleri Pryse FLSW

Professor of Physics, Aberystwyth University

Professor Chris Taylor FLSW

Cardiff Co-Director, Wales Institute of Social & Economic Research, Data and Methods (WISERD); Professor of Education, Cardiff University

Professor David Neville Thomas FRSB FLSW

Professor of Marine Biology, Head of School of Ocean Sciences, Bangor University; Director of Sêr Cymru NRN-LCEE, Docent at Helsinki University; Research Professor at Finnish Environment Research Institute (SYKE)

Professor Carole Tucker FLSW

Deputy Head of School and Director of Learning and Teaching, School of Physics and Astronomy, Cardiff University

Professor Lynda Warren FRSB OBE FLSW

Honorary Professor Bangor University; Emeritus Professor of Law, Aberystwyth University

Yr Athro Deri Tomos FLSW

Professor, School of Biological Sciences, Bangor University

Professor Meena Upadhyaya FRCPath OBE FLSW

Honorary Fellow, University of Wales, Trinity St. Davids; Distinguished Professor (Hon), Cardiff University School of Medicine, Institute of Medical Genetics, Cardiff University

Professor Stephen Nantlais Williams FLSW

Honorary Professor, Institute of Theology, Queen's University Belfast

Emy Janes Pary

Sir Emyr Jones Parry GCMG FInstP PLSW President

Mint

Dr Sarah Morse Acting Chief Executive