How to nominate

Each year, the Society awards medals to celebrate excellence in several areas of achievement. Anyone is welcome to make a nomination for any of the medal categories.

The deadline for 2019-20 medal nominations is 5.00pm on 1 March.

Each medal has a dedicated committee to assess the nominations and decide who should receive the award.

Each winner will receive a specially struck medal and a cash prize, awarded at the Society’s AGM on 20 May 2020.

Please read these guidelines before you complete the medal nomination form.

If you have any questions, please contact our Fellowship Assistant, Fiona Gaskell.

Medal categories and eligibility

To be eligible for any of our medals, nominees must be resident in Wales, born in Wales, or otherwise particularly connected with Wales. There are no age restrictions, and those who have taken a career break are eligible.

Dillwyn Medals – for Early Career Research Excellence

Named after the Dillwyn family of Swansea, we award these medals in three categories:

  • Humanities and Creative Arts
  • Sciences, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine
  • Social Sciences, Education and Business

The Dillwyn Medals recognise “individuals who have demonstrated outstanding ability in their work, research and professional practice”. Nominees will be early career researchers – either academic or non-academic – working in higher education, the public or private sector, or industry. They must have between 2 and 10 years of work experience, and must be at least 6 years past graduation of their first degree.

Frances Hoggan Medal – for Outstanding Women in STEMM

Frances Hoggan (1843-1927) was a pioneering medical practitioner, researcher and social reformer from Brecon. This medal recognises outstanding contributions to research by women in any area of Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics or Medicine (STEMM), including the scientific aspects of subjects such as geography and archaeology. Nominees should be actively engaged in research in the public or private sector.

Hugh Owen Medal – for Outstanding Educational Research

This medal is named in honour of Sir Hugh Owen (1804-1881), a significant Welsh educator, philanthropist and pioneer of higher education. It recognises significant contributions to educational research, or the application of research to produce significant innovations in education policy and/or professional education practice in Wales.

Menelaus Medal – for Excellence in Engineering and Technology

William Menelaus (1818-1882) was an engineer, manufacturer and company manager who founded the South Wales Institute of Engineers in 1857. This medal is awarded for excellence in any field of engineering and technology to an academic, industrial researcher or industrial practitioner.

The formal Regulations for the medals can be found here: