Vice-President (Science, Technology and Medicine)

Professor Michael Charlton FInstP FLSW

Mike studied physics at University College London (UCL) completing his PhD there on the interactions of low energy positrons in 1980. He won a Science and Engineering Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship in 1982 followed by a Royal Society University Research Fellowship in 1983, before becoming a Reader in Physics at UCL in 1991. In 1999 he moved to a Chair in Swansea University.  At Swansea he has been Head of the Department of Physics (2001-2007 and 2012-2016) and of the School of Physical Sciences (2005-2007). He held an Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Senior Research Fellowship from 2007-12.

Mike has made many seminal contributions to the study of atomic systems that include antiparticles, and in particular antihydrogen (the counterpart of the familiar hydrogen atom), the positron-antiproton bound state. He was a founder member of the ATHENA collaboration that first produced (2002) the anti-atom under controlled conditions at the European Particle Physics Laboratory, CERN. More recently, with the ALPHA grouping, his team have led initiatives culminating in trapping of the anti-atom, and in studies of some of its most important spectroscopic features. He has published over 200 research articles and a monograph describing his work. He was a co-recipient of the 2011 American Physical Society James Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research for work leading to antihydrogen trapping.

Mike has delivered a number of named lectures, including the Rochester (Durham, 2010), Fröhlich (Liverpool, 2008) and Larmor (Queen’s, Belfast, 2007) lectures. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and was elected as an Inaugural Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales in 2011. He is currently a member of the Council of the Learned Society, and was elected its Vice President (Science, Technology and Medicine) in May 2018.