Launch of the Learned Society of Wales

The Learned Society of Wales was formally launched during a ceremony held at the Reardon Smith Theatre, in the National Museum Cardiff, on Tuesday 25 May 2010, one week after the Society’s incorporation as a Company Limited by Guarantee. Click here for a copy of the Launch Programme.

Founding Fellows were greeted by the Society’s President, Sir John Cadogan CBE DSc FRSE FRSC PLSW FRS and, before signing the Roll of Fellows (which had been commissioned from Gwasg Gregynog), were introduced to an enthusiastic audience of specially invited guests which included representatives of other British learned societies, of Welsh and other higher education institutions, and of the Welsh Assembly Government.

Addresses of greeting were given by:

  • Professor John Harries FInstP FRMetS, Professor of Earth Observation, Imperial College, London; Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales
  • Professor Geoffrey Boulton OBE DSc FGS FRSE FRS, Senior Honorary  Professorial Fellow and Regius Professor of Geology Emeritus, the University of Edinburgh; General Secretary of the Royal Society of Edinburgh
  • Sir David Davies CBE DSc FREng FIET FLSW FRS, Chairman, The Hazards Forum; formerly: Pender Professor and Head of Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College, London; Vice-Chancellor, University of Loughborough; Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence; President, Royal Academy of Engineering
  • Professor Susan Mendus FLSW FBA, Professor of Political Philosophy, University of York; Vice-President (Social Sciences) of the British Academy
  • Professor Dame Jean Thomas DBE CBE FMedSci FLSW FRS, Master, St Catharine’s College, and Professor of Macromolecular Biochemistry, the University of Cambridge; Vice-President and Biological Secretary of the Royal Society
  • Mr Paul Loveluck CBE JP, President of the National Museum Wales

The Launch culminated in the Inaugural Address by the Society’s President and Chair of Council, Sir John Cadogan.


To see some photographs from the Launch, click here.